Mama Kim’s BBQ

The Providence Food Truck scene has exploded over the past year. So many new trucks have come out of the woodwork, it has become hard to keep track of them. (A few ways I have found helpful are the Eat Street iOS/Android app and the @PVDFoodTrucks Twitter list)

Mama Kim’s BBQ is not a newcomer to the scene, however. They have been slinging fresh sliders and Korean specialties to Brown students (mostly) since about 2008 (?). They typically park on Thayer Street between Waterman and George most evenings and are in Kennedy Plaza for most lunches weekdays. Their specialties are great street food like fried dumplings, small sandwiches and “rice sets”, which are their popular meats served as full meals with rice and a side dish.

The Order

As a newbie, I decided to get only a few of their offerings and did some research to figure out which are their best. The slider options I got were two each of their beef bulgolgi and their pork kimchee sliders, served on Portuguese sweet bread. I also got a daily special of theirs, their veggie dumplings, which were deep fried and gooey on the inside.

The pork kimchee slider from Mama Kim's truck

I was very happy with this little meal. It was quick, cheap (under $20!), and ever so tasty. The bulgogi was nice and tender with plenty of sauce and drippings. The overall taste was mild with no heavy spices, just tender and delicious marinated beef. The kimchee sliders were amazing. The spicy kimchee and the juicy, tender pork complimented each other so well, with the toasted sweet rolll… oh man, I should have gotten way more of those. The spice wasn’t overpowering, and I’m not a big fan of kimchee on its own, but this combination is making me hungry for one even as I write this.

I’m really happy with all the new food trucks coming onto the Providence scene, and I hope to try some more. I have a feeling, though, that the kimchee slider is going to be something that I crave from time to time, though…

Leave a comment